Medical documentation assistant

Download as PDF Add to favorites

 

 

What are my activities in this job?

Medical documentation assistants provide for a smooth flow of technical information in all areas of the healthcare sector and in pharmacies. In hospitals they work in patient administration, collect patient data and create and archive medical records. They create medical data and make it available for use, for example as diagnostic or special documentation or for billing of services. If necessary, they also research specialist literature. They also maintain hospital information systems and train people in how to use them. In the field of medical document information management, data and information is systematised, tagged with keywords and encrypted and screen windows for forms and documentation are created. Assistants create databases and ensure their security and maintenance. They also assist with the preparation of statistics. For pharmaceutical research, they can participate in clinical trials and in the testing of medicinal products.

Where can I work?

Medical documentation assistants are employed in clinics, hospitals and large medical practices, in the pharmaceutical and chemical industries, government health agencies, medical faculties at institutes of higher education and public and private health insurance providers.

What requirements must I meet?
  • General or subject-related university entrance certificate; intermediate school leaving certificate; first general education school leaving certificate and successful completion of a two year training & education programme. In addition, a medical certificate from a doctor regarding medical suitability for the profession is necessary.
  • Requirements: Diligence and the ability to concentrate (e.g. carefully checking medical databases even under time pressure); organisational skills (e.g. setting up and maintaining patient record archives); Written and oral skills (e.g. preparing documentation and patient reports, entering hospital staff details into new hospital information systems); confidentiality (keeping medical facts and patient data  confidential); school subjects: biology/chemistry (e.g. for understanding anatomical and physiological relationships/contexts); German (e.g. for creating forms and entering medical information); mathematics (e.g. for billing of medical services); English (e.g. for reading technical/academic literature).

How much will the training cost?
A monthly tuition fee to the amount of € 375 must be paid for the training & education programme. You may apply for financing over 48 months with monthly payments of € 194.98. Alternative financing models are also available. Consultation on possible

 

More information on training

 

Information on training & education programmes

Location of the training provider

Hamburg

Type of training/education

Academic

Duration

2 years

Qualification

Medical documentation assistant

Details

Full-time training & education program with integrated placements

Student stipend/allowance

No remuneration is paid during the school training course.

State recognition

No

Medizinische/r Dokumentationsassistent/in

Download als PDF auf Merkliste setzen

 

 

Was ist meine Tätigkeit in diesem Beruf?

Medizinische Dokumentationsassistenten und ‑assistentinnen sorgen für einen reibungslosen fachlichen Informationsfluss in allen Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens sowie in der Pharmazie. In Krankenhäusern arbeiten sie in der patientennahen Verwaltung, erheben Patientendaten, legen Krankenakten an und archivieren sie. Sie erfassen und erschließen die anfallenden medizinischen Daten und stellen sie bereit, z.B. als Diagnose- oder Spezialdokumentationen oder für die Abrechnung der erbrachten Leistungen. Ggf. recherchieren sie auch nach Fachliteratur. Ebenfalls betreuen sie Krankenhausinformationssysteme und schulen Anwender/innen. Im Bereich medizinisch-dokumentarisches Informationsmanagement systematisieren, verschlagworten und verschlüsseln sie Daten und Informationen und entwerfen Bildschirmmasken für Formulare und Dokumentationen. Sie bauen Datenbestände auf, sichern und pflegen sie. Auch an der Erstellung von Statistiken sind sie beteiligt. In der Arzneimittelforschung können sie bei klinischen Studien bzw. bei der Arzneimittelprüfung mitwirken.

Wo kann ich beruflich eingesetzt werden?

Medizinische Dokumentationsassistenten und -assistentinnen finden Beschäftigung in Kliniken, Krankenhäusern und größeren Arztpraxen; in der pharmazeutischen und chemischen Industrie; in Gesundheitsämtern; an medizinischen Fakultäten von Hochschulen; bei Krankenkassen und -versicherungen.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich mitbringen?
  • Fachgebundene Hochschulreife oder eine allgemeine Hochschulreife; Mittlerer Schulabschluss; Erster Allgemeinbildender Schulabschluss und eine abgeschlossene zweijährige Ausbildung. Zusätzlich ist eine ärztliche Bescheinigung über die gesundheitliche Eignung zur Ausübung des Berufes erforderlich.
  • Anforderungen: Sorgfalt und Konzentrationsfähigkeit (z.B. auch unter Zeitdruck medizinische Datenbestände gewissenhaft prüfen); Organisatorische Fähigkeiten (z.B. Patientenaktenarchive einrichten und betreuen); Schriftliches und mündliches Ausdrucksvermögen (z.B. Dokumentationen und Patientenberichte erstellen, Klinikpersonal in neue Krankenhausinformationssysteme einführen); Verschwiegenheit (Stillschweigen über medizinische Sachverhalte und Patientendaten wahren); Schulfächer: Biologie/Chemie (z.B. zum Verstehen von anatomischen und physiologischen Zusammenhängen); Deutsch (z.B. beim Erstellen von Formularen und Erfassen von medizinischen Informationen); Mathematik (z.B. beim Abrechnen von medizinischen Leistungen); Englisch (z.B. beim Lesen von Fachliteratur)

Welche Kosten kommen durch die Ausbildung auf mich zu?
Für die Ausbildung ist ein monatliches Schulgeld in Höhe von 375 € zu zahlen. Auf Antrag ist auch die Finanzierung über 48 Monate in Höhe von 194.98 € / Monat möglich. Alternative Finanzierungsmodelle sind ebenfalls vorhanden. Eine Beratung über mögliche

 

Weitere Informationen zur Ausbildung

 

Infos zur Ausbildung

Standort des Ausbildungsbetriebes

Hamburg

Art der Ausbildung

Schule

Dauer

2 Jahre

Abschluss

Medizinische/r Dokumentationsassistent/in

Besonderheiten

Vollzeitschulische Ausbildung mit integrierten Praktika

Ausbildungsvergütung

Während der schulischen Ausbildung wird keine Vergütung gezahlt.

Staatliche Anerkennung

Nein