Biomedical Engineering (M. Sc.)

Download as PDF Add to favorites

 

 

What is the content of the course of studies?

The modular study is split over 1.5 years and will be conducted in English. Advanced knowledge of medical technology is taught. The focus is on recording and processing biodata, functional and application possibilities of imaging procedures, diagnostic and therapeutic control systems and approval and evaluation procedures for medical technology products. A biomedical project is integrated into the course as a separate module. The degree course is concluded with a master’s thesis.

Where can I find employment later on?
There are a large number of potential workplaces for medical technicians. They are found, for example, in companies that develop, manufacture and distribute medical devices; in hospitals (e.g. in the context of device management or patient safety); in consultancy firms, e.g. when hospitals or doctors’ practises are purchasing new equipment; in research facilities or in authorities and health offices, which, for example, monitor compliance with technical standards.
In what fields/subject areas can I work?

Medical technology is a growth industry. There are excellent employment and career opportunities in the Hamburg region, throughout Germany and worldwide. Professional subject areas include marketing, product management, sales, development and service, application of medical devices, device management and maintenance planning, medical product advice (patient safety), quality assurance and training, hospital planning and setting up as well as in clinical research.

What are the entry requirements?
  • Bachelor in Medical Engineering or a successfully completed bachelor’s degree in a related discipline.
  • Knowledge of English (for example, by submission of the original certificate of the higher education entrance qualification).

What costs will I incur as part of my studies?
Semester fee of € 308.50 (winter term 2014/15). This sum includes the semester ticket for Hamburger (HVV) public transport.

 

More information on study

 

Information about studying

Who offers this course?

Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg

Type of study

University studies

Duration

Three semesters

Qualification on completion

Master of Science

Special features

Students who begin the programme with 180 credit points from undergraduate studies must first acquire an additional 30 credit points by attending undergraduate courses and receive conditional approval.

State recognition

Yes

Medizintechnik (M. Sc.)

Download als PDF auf Merkliste setzen

 

 

Was sind die Inhalte des Studiums?

Das Studium ist in 1,5 Jahre aufgeteilt und wird im Modulsystem in englischer Sprache durchgeführt. Es werden fortgeschrittene Wissensinhalte der Medizintechnik vermittelt. Schwerpunktfelder sind Erfassung und Verarbeitung von Biodaten, Funktions- und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von bildgebenden Verfahren, diagnostische und therapeutische Kontrollsysteme und Zulassungs- und Bewertungsverfahren für Medizintechnik-Produkte. In das Studium ist ein biomedizinisches Projekt als eigenes Modul integriert. Das Studium endet mit der Masterarbeit.

Wo kann ich später eingesetzt werden?
Für Medizintechnikerinnen und Medizintechniker gibt es eine große Anzahl an Einsatzorten. Man findet sie z.B. in Unternehmen, die medizinische Geräte entwickeln, herstellen und vertreiben; in Krankenhäusern (z.B. im Zusammenhang mit Gerätemanagement oder der Patientensicherheit); in Beratungsunternehmen, die z.B. Krankenhäuser oder Arztpraxen beim Ankauf neuer Geräte unterstützen; in Forschungseinrichtungen oder in Behörden und Gesundheitsämtern, die z.B. die Einhaltung von technischen Standards überwachen.
In welchen Themenfeldern kann ich arbeiten?

Die Medizintechnik ist eine Wachstumsbranche. Sowohl in der Region Hamburg als auch bundes- und weltweit ergeben sich hervorragende Beschäftigungs- und Karriereperspektiven. Berufliche Themenfelder sind unter anderem Marketing, Produktmanagement, Vertrieb, Entwicklung und Service, Applikation von Medizinprodukten, Gerätemanagement und Instandhaltungsplanung, Medizinprodukteberatung (Patientensicherheit), Qualitätssicherung und Schulung, Krankenhausplanung und -einrichtung sowie in der Klinische Forschung.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich mitbringen?
  • Bachelor in Medizintechnik oder ein erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium in einer nahestehenden Fachrichtung .
  • Englische Sprachkenntnisse (Nachweis z.B. durch Vorlage des Zeugnisses der allgemeinen Hochschulreife)

Welche Kosten kommen durch das Studium auf mich zu?
Semesterbeitrag von 308,50 EUR (Wintersemester 2014/15). Diese Summe beinhaltet das Semesterticket des Hamburger Verkehrsverbundes (HVV).

 

Weitere Informationen zum Studium

 

Infos zum Studium

Wer bietet dieses Studium an?

Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg

Art des Studiums

Hochschulstudium

Dauer

3 Semester

Abschluss

Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Besonderheiten

Studierende, die den Studiengang mit 180 Creditpoints aus einem grundständigen Studium beginnen, müssen zunächst weitere 30 Creditpoints durch die Teilnahme an grundständigen Lehrveranstaltungen erbringen und erhalten eine vorläufige Zulassung

Staatliche Anerkennung

Ja