Emergency medical technician

Download as PDF Add to favorites

 

 

What are my activities in this job?
Emergency medical technicians provide first aid at the scene of an emergency under the supervision of a paramedic. They support the paramedic until the emergency doctor arrives. They also transport the victim under professional care to the hospital. Then they disinfect the ambulance and prepare it for its next emergency callout. During patient transport, technicians monitor the bodily functions of the patient and restore them as necessary. They are also responsible for transport certificates, incident reports and documentation of the callout. Paramedics also receive and coordinate emergency calls at the office.
Where can I work?
Emergency medical technicians work primarily in hospitals, mainly as part of the ambulance service or the emergency services. Emergency medical technicians can also work for blood donation services, city fire departments, disaster aid organisations, and local rescue services.
What requirements must I meet?
  • First general school leaving certificate; completion of ten years of education beyond the first general education school leaving certificate; if a two year education & training course has been completed, no school leaving certificate is required.
  • General medical fitness, minimum age 17 years
How much will the training cost?
Subject to certain costs, such as school fees or admission/examination fees.

 

More information on training

 

Information on training & education programmes

Location of the training provider

Hamburg

Type of training/education

Dual training: Academic and practical

Duration

The academic training lasts three to nine months

Qualification

Emergency medical technician

Details

Even after training & education is completed, further education sessions must be attended regularly in order to maintain up-to-date knowledge and skills.

Student stipend/allowance

No remuneration is paid during the school training course.

State recognition

Yes

Rettungssanitäter/in

Download als PDF auf Merkliste setzen

 

 

Was ist meine Tätigkeit in diesem Beruf?

Rettungssanitäter/innen leisten unter Aufsicht des Notfallsanitäters oder des Notarztes Erste Hilfe am Notfallort. Sie unterstützen den Notfallsanitäter, bis der Notarzt eintrifft. Außerdem transportieren sie die Betroffenen unter fachgerechter Betreuung zum Krankenhaus. Anschließend desinfizieren sie den Rettungswagen und bereiten diesen für den nächsten Rettungseinsatz vor. Während der Krankentransporte beobachten sie die Körperfunktionen der Patienten und stellen diese gegebenenfalls wieder her. Zusätzlich sind sie für die Transportnachweise, Einsatzberichte und die Protokollführung des Einsatzes zuständig. Rettungssanitäter nehmen im Innendienst Notrufe an und koordinieren diese.

Wo kann ich beruflich eingesetzt werden?

Vorwiegend arbeiten Rettungssanitäter/innen im Krankenhaus, vor allem im Patiententransport oder im Rettungsdienst. Außerdem können Rettungssanitäter in Blutspendediensten, städtischen Feuerwehren, Katastrophenhilfswerken sowie kommunaltätigen Rettungsdienstwachen berufstätig sein.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich mitbringen?
  • Erster Allgemeinbildender Schulabschluss; eine zehnjährige abgeschlossene Schulbildung, die den Ersten Allgemeinbildenden Schulabschluss erweitert; falls eine abgeschlossene mindestens zweijährige Ausbildung vorliegt, ist kein Schulabschluss notwendig.
  • Allgemeine gesundheitliche Eignung, Mindestalter 17 Jahre

Welche Kosten kommen durch die Ausbildung auf mich zu?
Teilweise fallen Kosten wie Schulgeld oder Aufnahme- sowie Prüfungskosten an.

 

Weitere Informationen zur Ausbildung

 

Infos zur Ausbildung

Standort des Ausbildungsbetriebes

Hamburg

Art der Ausbildung

Duale Ausbildung: Schule und Praxis

Dauer

Die schulische Ausbildung dauert drei bis neun Monate

Abschluss

Rettungssanitäter/in

Besonderheiten

Auch nach abgeschlossener Ausbildung müssen regelmäßig Weiterbildungen besucht werden, um die eigenen Kenntnisse auf aktuellem Stand zu halten.

Ausbildungsvergütung

Während der schulischen Ausbildung wird keine Vergütung gezahlt.

Staatliche Anerkennung

Ja