Health Sciences (M. Sc.)

Download as PDF Add to favorites

 

 

What is the content of the course of studies?

The Master’s course deals with the determinants of health from a global and interdisciplinary perspective. It teaches scientific skills, research methodological skills and practical professional skills to improve the health of populations or groups. The focus is on international public health research methods in epidemiology, diversity, work science, health promotion and health economy. The course is taught in English to emphasise the international nature.

Where can I find employment later on?
The degree course provides a science-based qualification for independent a) planning and execution of surveys and analysis and interpretation of health-related information and data, b) development, implementation and evaluation of measures to change behaviour and structural conditions for better health in individuals, groups and populations, c) management of projects and organisational units in administration or in the management of companies in health economics and health policy.
In what fields/subject areas can I work?

Typical professional fields of activity are research and consultancy companies, health and safety at work, environmental and consumer protection, occupational and community health promotion, health monitoring and epidemiology, research and training for companies, government agencies, insurance companies, professional associations, associations and institutions, as well as activities in health policy.

What are the entry requirements?
  • Bachelor in Health Sciences, part of these fields or in related fields.
  • English (C1)

What costs will I incur as part of my studies?
Approx. € 300 including HVV ticket.

 

More information on study

 

Information about studying

Who offers this course?

HAW Hamburg

Type of study

University studies

Duration

Four semesters

Qualification on completion

Master of Science

Special features

The third semester consists of a research project which is integrated into the study like an internship. Students work as part of a research team at HAW Hamburg or another research institution in Germany or abroad. It is supervised 1:1 by a professor from the HAW and accompanied by an academic colloquium. HAW Hamburg has partner universities worldwide, where study time in health sciences can be completed abroad. It is possible to take a double master’s with the University of Lille, in which case French language skills are required.

State recognition

Yes

Health Sciences

Download als PDF auf Merkliste setzen

 

 

Was sind die Inhalte des Studiums?

Der Master behandelt die Determinanten von Gesundheit aus globaler und interdisziplinärer Perspektive. Er vermittelt wissenschaftliche, forschungsmethodische und berufspraktische Kompetenzen zu Verbesserung der Gesundheit von Bevölkerungen oder Gruppen. Die internationalen Public Health Forschungsmethoden in Epidemiologie, Diversity, Arbeitswissenschaften, Gesundheitsförderung und Gesundheitsökonomie stehen im Fokus. Um den internationalen Charakter zu unterstreichen wird das Programm in englischer Sprache unterrichtet.

Wo kann ich später eingesetzt werden?
Der Studiengang vermittelt auf wissenschaftlicher Basis die Qualifikation zur selbständigen a) Planung und Durchführung von Erhebungen sowie Analyse und Interpretation gesundheitsbezogener Informationen und Daten, c) Entwicklung, Implementierung und Evaluation von Maßnahmen zur Veränderung von Verhalten und strukturellen Bedingungen für mehr Gesundheit bei Individuen, Gruppen und Populationen, c) Leitung von Projekten und Organisationseinheiten in Verwaltungen oder im Management von Unternehmen, in Gesundheitswirtschaft und Gesundheitspolitik.
In welchen Themenfeldern kann ich arbeiten?

Typische berufliche Tätigkeitsfelder sind Forschungseinrichtungen und Beratungsunternehmen sowie der gesundheitliche Arbeits-, Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutz, die betriebliche und kommunale Gesundheitsförderung, die Gesundheitsberichterstattung und Epidemiologie, Forschung und Qualifizierung bei Unternehmen, Behörden, Krankenkassen, Berufsgenossenschaften, Verbänden und Instituten, sowie Tätigkeiten in der Gesundheitspolitik.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich mitbringen?
  • Bachelor in Gesundheitswissenschaften, ihren Teilgebieten oder in verwandten Fächern
  • Englisch (C1)

Welche Kosten kommen durch das Studium auf mich zu?
ca. 300 Euro einschließlich HVV-Ticket

 

Weitere Informationen zum Studium

 

Infos zum Studium

Wer bietet dieses Studium an?

HAW Hamburg

Art des Studiums

Hochschulstudium

Dauer

vier Semester

Abschluss

Master of Science

Besonderheiten

Das dritte Semester besteht aus einem Forschungsprojekt, das wie ein Praktikum in das Studium integriert ist. Studierende arbeiten als Teil eines Forschungsteams an der HAW Hamburg oder einer anderen Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland oder international. Es wird 1:1 von einem Professor oder einer Professorin der HAW betreut und durch ein Kolloquium begleitet. Die HAW Hamburg hat weltweit Partnerhochschulen, an denen ein Auslandsaufenthalt in den Gesundheitswissenschaften absolviert werden kann. Ein Doppelmaster mit der Universität Lille ist möglich, hierfür sind französische Sprachkenntnisse erforderlich.

Staatliche Anerkennung

Ja